Rob Kraft's Software Development Blog

Software Development Insights

How to make your own application icons for Windows Phone 7

Posted by robkraft on April 25, 2011

I searched around the Internet for 48×48 PNG images that I could use for Application Bar Icons on my Windows Phone 7.  I was hoping to find an icon that represented “menu”, but I did not.  Finally, I decided to try to edit something I felt was close and I am glad I did because it was very easy to do.  I obtained a free icon editor called IcoFX from download.com (I almost always download from download.com because they have already ran virus checks against the files they host).  I then opened an existing image and began making the minor edits I desired for my new image.  I made sure that the image was a “True Color”, or “32bit” image.   I saved it as an .ico, then used the Export Image option from the File menu of IcoFX to export it to a .PNG.

Leave a Reply

 
