Rob Kraft's Software Development Blog

Software Development Insights

How to Configure Your Windows 8 Phone to Get Your Google Mail

Posted by robkraft on December 17, 2012

I have several e-mail accounts hosted by Google, which is fortunate because it helped me solve this problem.  I had set up my organization’s email account, hosted on Google, using the settings I used in my Windows 7 phone.  Those settings looked like this, but did not work on my Windows 8 phone:

  • User Name: admin@MyDomainName.org
  • Server: m.google.com
  • SSL: Checked (Yes)

But to get that to work on my Windows 8 Phone I had to switch the account to the IMAP settings.  To do this, delete your account settings on your Windows 8 Phone because you need to set them up in a way that allows you to choose IMAP4.  Create a new account with these settings:

  • Account Name: really doesn’t matter
  • Email address: admin@MyDomainName.org
  • Incoming email server: imap.gmail.com:993:1
  • User Name:   admin@MyDomainName.org
  • Outgoing (SMTP) email server: smtp.gmail.com:465:1
  • Outgoing server requires authentication: Checked (Yes)
  • Use the same user name and password for sending email: Checked (Yes)
  • Advanced settings:
  • Require SSL for incoming email: Checked (Yes)
  • Require SSL for outgoing email: Checked (Yes)

When you do this on your phone:

  • Pick “add an account”
  • Pick “other account (POP and IMAP)”
  • Enter the Email address and Password and click Sign In.  It will fail.
  • Click “try again”.  It will fail again, but then you will get an “advanced” button where you can enter the information above.
9 Responses to “How to Configure Your Windows 8 Phone to Get Your Google Mail”

  1. When i click on advanced, it shows 2 options- Exchange Activesync & Internet email…. Both of these shows a msg. that the account is already running in your phone when i click on either…. Plz help me

    • robkraft said

      I think the choice between Exchange ActiveSync and Internet Email is new since I wrote this post, but for Google/gmail accounts you would definitely choose “Internet Email”. When I try this, I get the list of settings to populate. Have you tried rebooting your phone then trying it all again?

  2. Minerva Jomenez said

    SMTP.gmail.com 465:1 my emails just don’t goes, it keeps in the trash without going anywhere…help…

  3. donomyte said

    thanks, works fine now

  4. Icant connect google or gmail account in my phone. I have nokia Lumia 625..

  5. my window nokia lumia 520 company apps issud not a sign in requerd domain & server plz help me i am fst usrs lumia window phone

  6. Robbie Joshua Chiphaliwali said

    I need to have access to the above email box it’s my main mail add

  7. murali.r said

    not received any message from gmail team

  8. Hi,I have purcashe a new nokia Lumia 525..whenever I am trying to download something in my phone it shows..to create microsoft account..i created the account.also but it shows me to update imap gmail.com..i am not getting that setting perfectly..it is a request from my side to show in practical how I need to make the changes in gmail account setting….

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 108 other followers

